Didn’t expect my eyes to pop wide open when I just HAPPENED to take a little peek through the small dirty garage door window! Yet I suddenly found myself standing outside to confirm what I thought I had just seen. Yup! Sure enough, it was the biggest and brightest rainbow ever seen by my own two eyes. My heart flipped in my chest. It seemed SO CLOSE, as though I could REALLY reach its’ mysterious end!

“OH MY GOD”…”OH MY GOD”…”OH MY GOD”…”OH MY GOD”

……that’s what I kept repeating to myself as I rushed to the back room to grab my camera. I knew there wasn’t much time. Rainbows have a tendency to vanish as quickly as they appear. And who knows how long it had already been there?!? If I hadn’t gotten up to stretch and visit the bathroom I never would have seen this! It was that extraordinary. I had to get this shot!

This rainbow was so crisp and clear.

Its’ colors were so vibrant and strong!

RED

ORANGE

YELLOW

GREEN

BLUE

PURPLE

As a child, that was my self-appointed rule for correctly coloring in rainbows…..well, I guess it still is. And this rainbow was perfect.

Beyond perfect!

This rainbow was glowing so bright and I could see its’ entirely MASSIVE arc. But the base of this thing was what really drew me in. It really did seem to be SUPER CLOSE. I couldn’t stop staring! The colors were so warm and inviting and I tried to imagine what it would be like to catch up to it and bask in its’ glory.

Sadly, its’ brilliance slowly but surely began to fade. First the top part…then the bottom, too. I stood there in the soft rain staring at it for as long as it stood. This thing was so vivid and bright that its’ colors reflected in the wet pavement of the parking lot. I was in awe. It just didn’t seem real. I hope its’ impact comes through in the pictures (it didn’t).

"This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on earth."  GENESIS 9:13

“This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on earth.” GENESIS 9:13

Look at how the colors reflect in the pavement!

Look at how the colors show in the pavement!

Funny how such a striking symbol and reminder of God’s love would just happen to appear on a day believed by so many to be a predicted day of doom.

And that day was ofcourse 12/21/2012 ……………..

but that didn’t seem to dawn on me till,

like,

an hour later……. duh.

Leave a Reply

