I’m currently struggling with some things. Trying to figure stuff out. Been getting overly stressed and exhausted so I thought I would reminisce on my first spiritual experience. Although, I do remember thinking, at the age of five or six, that Jesus was sitting next to me on the bus, I received the Holy Spirit when I was nine….as you will see.

Yes, I was nine years old when it happened. I remember sitting in my dad’s car in the driveway, listening to him tell me about Jesus. He was dropping me off after another Sunday visit. Before I got out of the car to go inside he told me about how if I ask Jesus to come into my heart, He will. I honestly can’t remember details of this talk, but that night after I had gone to bed I remembered what he had said earlier in the day. As I lay on my belly with my little cheek pressed upon my pillow, I began to pray to Jesus. I told Him how I wanted Him in my life. I asked Him to please come into my heart. The more I prayed the deeper the sincerity became until I was sobbing into a now wet pillow, pleading with Him to come into my heart. I remember feeling almost desperate for Him. SUDDENLY, a powerful energy I’d never felt before entered directly into my back, went directly into my heart and then spread throughout my body. At the time I believe I referred to it as “a giant gush of love”. I know now it was the Holy Spirit. Jesus LITERALLY came into my heart! The peace was immediate and I went right to sleep. I remember the next day standing out in my yard raising my hands up to the sky hoping for that feeling to happen again but it never did. But I knew Jesus was with me.

Leave a Reply

