To all my dear fellow believers in our Lord Jesus Christ,

I recently heard a teaching from a very popular evangelist, someone of whom I was quite enamored with when I first discovered him. I won’t say who for I do believe his heart is sincere and I’m not trying to slander anyone, but I do pray that God opens his eyes to any error that may be in his teachings. I heard him say, “The Christian faith was never meant to be known for its’ doctrine, but for its’ passion.” 

Titus 1:9  (ESV)… 9 He must hold firm to the trustworthy word as taught, so that he may be able to give instruction in sound doctrine and also to rebuke those who contradict it.

Titus 2:1 (ESV)… 2 But as for you, teach what accords with sound doctrine.

Be careful who you seek to get your “truth” from. We must be rooted in Yahweh’s truth…

Romans 16:17  (ESV)…17 I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them.

The enemy uses a great deal of truth to disguise his lies, which can make it difficult to tell the difference when you are not grounded in God’s Word. It is only when we study and meditate upon God’s Holy Word that we can discern between truth and the lies of the enemy…

Ephesians 4:14  (ESV)…14 so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes.
Colossians 2:4  (ESV)…4 I say this in order that no one may delude you with plausible arguments.
Colossians 2: 6,7  (ESV)…6 Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, 7 rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.

2 Timothy 1:13 (ESV)… 13 Follow the pattern of the sound words that you have heard from me, in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.

As it says in 2 Timothy, we are in that time of deception…

2 Timothy 4:3-4  (NKJV)…3 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; 4 and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables.
Galatians 1:6-9 (ESV)…6 I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— 7 not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ. 8 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel contrary to the one we preached to you,let him be accursed. 9 As we have said before, so now I say again: If anyone is preaching to you a gospel contrary to the one you received,let him be accursed.
I am no longer seeking to be fed through the plethora of preachers and teachers on TV. Especially GOD TV. I’m not saying that none of them can be trusted, but the safest place to get fed is from God’s Holy Word. I went through a phase of laziness where I only looked to the television or youtube for a word or teaching. I’m not saying truth cannot be found in these places, but I am now sticking to the bible and guidance from the Holy Spirit as my main source because, well, it is THE SOURCE! Deception has become a fine line not easily seen. And be careful you are not seeking experiences and feelings over sound doctrine. http://www.gotquestions.org/sound-doctrine.html
3 responses »

  1. Ziona says:

    This is a good word, Mindy. I can relate to falling into a lazy habit of “just doing TV church”… God bless you!

  2. God TV is loaded with false prophets because they make money. It’s sad these thief’s have used the gospel as a product. Thanks for your post and God bless you!

Leave a Reply

