Today I discovered two videos in my “recommended” YouTube feed that confirm what I have already FINALLY come to understand to be true. We can be saved but still lack the baptism of the Holy Spirit. The baptism of the Holy Spirit is a promise from Jesus that ALL believers can receive. This gift fills us with God’s power and enables us to really tap into God’s kingdom in a way we never could before. I want this. I need this. I keep asking for this but still have not been able to receive this promise. But now I think maybe it DID happen to me when I first believed but, because I had zero discipleship, I never learned about what I had?

Or, perhaps there are still things I need to let go of that are inhibiting me from receiving; things that are “in opposition to the Holy Spirit” (spoken by lady with the cool hair) which prevent Him from getting in?

Or maybe it’s both!

Anyway…This is the first video I watched…

And this is the second video I watched which I think is REALLY GREAT!

I hope the Lord will give me the answers I need like He did for the woman in the second video. I’ve been asking for a really long time.

UPDATE: 3/9/2021

I also want to add these two other things that clarify this topic so well for me. One is this excerpt from this link https://bibleresources.org/baptism-in-the-holy-spirit/

“…The baptism in the Holy Spirit is a crisis experience just as our initial conversion experience was. We cannot be gradually baptized in the Holy Ghost, just as we cannot be gradually baptized in water. Certainly we can be gradually filled with God’s Spirit, but one day that “filling” will spill over into a baptism or complete immersion in the Holy Ghost. Many believe they need not ask for this experience because they think they receive the Holy Spirit at conversion. While this is true in the sense that the Holy Spirit comes upon us, and in us, to plant the seed of life in Christ, it is not true that we are completely filled with His Spirit unless we ask for it. “…How much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?” (Luke 11:13).

Many people have been “born again” and have the Holy Spirit working in their lives, but have never received the baptism in the Holy Ghost which equips them for service and gives them the power needed to overcome in Christ…”

AND…

This teaching video by Derek Prince. His example scriptures of John 20:22 and Acts 1:4-5, 8 are what really helped me understand this topic in a more concrete way.

“When He had said this, He breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit.”                John 20:22 

“And while they were gathered together, He commanded them: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift the Father promised, which you have heard Me discuss. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.”                   -Acts 1:4-5

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be My witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”         -Acts 1:8

2 responses »

  1. Sherri Ohler says:

    Hi Mindy! I just found your email and messaged you back! So sorry dor the delay!

    This has blessed me in so many ways today 🖤 May He bless you back a hundreds.

    In Jesus,
    Sherri

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.